Week 8…Only 10 Weeks to Go!

Posted on April 8, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Ok…following a 20.5 mile week I knew I would be increasing the miles this week. This week I also saw my physical therapist. Yep, it’s official. I have a pissy left ITB. After a scolding from PT for not stretching before I run, I was introduced to a couple new stretches he claims will help (kidding…I have 100% trust in him, he’s a great therapist, and he’s the one that has D.P.T. behind his name, not me). I told him I didn’t think it was a good idea to stretch cold muscles, he told me I’m WRONG, and I agreed to try anything to make me run pain-free, and by gosh, it turns out all that education is right. Who knew. I have to check back with him next week and go from there. So, on with the week-in-review:

Monday: 5 miles in 43 miles. Quick jaunt around town. It was windy outside and my ITB felt fine until the last 45 seconds of my run when someone wanted directions to the ball field so I stopped to help them out, and couldn’t get going again 😦

Tuesday: Pool time! 3/4 mile swim and treading water. We spend an hour in the pool.

Wednesday: 4 miles in 32:04. 3 miles at tempo, and an overall average of 8:04/mile. Leg felt good! But chilly outside.

Thursday: 6 miles @ 8:30 mile. Felt good, a little chilly. My leg felt fine and pain-free until I stopped to walk at the end of my run.

Friday: Day of Rest 🙂

Saturday: Can you say…PR! 13.1 miles in 1:56:30. Yeah, I ran my own little half marathon. Got dropped off in the middle of nowhere and much to the Hubs dismay, I found my way home (I’m only kidding…but he really did drop me off 13 some miles away…). I haven’t run a half (besides my last 14 miler 2 weeks ago) since last June. So there. I’m counting this as my PR. Even if I did use the 4o mph wind to my advantage. I literally blew home. So as if that wasn’t enough, I managed an 18 mile bike ride with a couple of friends. My first time on a road bike (I have a cruiser) and we decided to ride on the windiest day of the century. No joke. 40-50 mph wind gusts. Horrible.

Sunday: 3 miles recovery run on the dreadmill in 28 minutes. I had a couple of sore legs! But I got through it just fine.

Total miles: 31.1. Yes, I have to throw in the 0.1 mile.

Is anyone struggling through a running injury or trying their best to prevent one??!!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Wife. Daughter. Nurse. Student. Cupcake and cookie lover. Marathoner!!! Soon-to-be triathlete!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

