Oh Give Thanks…A Few Days Late

Rather than be all prepared and write a Thanksgiving post ahead of time or even on time for that matter, I’m writing this a little late. Oh well. I was blessed to be able to spend the day with my family, and the night at work. There has been a little (or a lot) of craziness in my life, so I’m not the most compliant little blogger. But it gets done. The idea I was going to share has been shared with the Hubs, who hasn’t given me the go-ahead yet. Hmm.

There are many things that I am very grateful for. So I’ll just start rambling, in no particular order:

1. My family and friends. As crazy as life may be, as crazy as I may be, my friends and family are always there.

2. My job, the Hub’s job, our education, our home, our cars, all the lovely material things that jobs provide for us. Not that we have a ton, but we could certainly be less fortunate.

3. Our health. I have taken care of some sick people. Young. Too young. I have heard of too many people via blogs, friends, or family that have people near and dear to them that are sick. I pray for you. All of you.

4. My faith. I do not chat much about it because to each is its own. However my beliefs and my faith have been a very valuable thing for me. One of my mom’s favorite sayings was, ” Never underestimate the power of prayer,” unknown. I stick by this saying and it has gotten me through a lot. While we’re on favorite sayings, another is, “If He will lead you to it, He will lead you through it,” unknown.

5. This goes along with my health, but also my ability to be active. To run. To do Jillian and Bob dvd’s. To swim. To bike. To work. Being active is my outlet. Running especially. Keeps this chick sane. I hope and pray I never find out what it would be like to have this ability taken away from me. I never, ever, ever take this for granted. I almost always give a shout out to the Big Guy Upstairs for giving me another run or another workout. Even my crappy runs. Because at least I was able to run.

6. And I’m thankful for chocolate 🙂 And pumpkin pie, pumpkin torte, pumpkin bars, and whipped cream. Really anything with pumpkin and whipped cream.

7. My fellow bloggers. Though I’ve never actually met any of you, even though I would love to meet you! There have been some pretty incredible blogs that I have read, and continue to read. I find humor, motivation, drive, and encouragement through blogging. I love that people can be themselves, speak their thoughts, talk about things they are passionate about, and relate to other people. Not to mention the support the bloggers receive from other people. The positivity from other people can really give a person a boost. Don’t get me wrong, I know there are negative Nelly’s out there, but I have not had that happen yet…in the blog world.

8. And…I’m thankful that on November 21st, 2012 (this past Wednesday)…in MN we had crazy nice weather, and this is what I wore on my 7 mile run…so much for that cold weather running post huh??

Not so fast…today’s 10 miler I wore 2 pairs of socks (one of them were Smart Wool), shoes, tights, bra, bra tank top, a cold gear base layer, my white Nike fleece dri-fit zip up with thumb holes (best invention yet), 2 pairs of gloves (because my hands are always freezing the first couple miles, I always shed at least 1 pair along the way), and my headband. Wind was COLD. It would’ve been perfect if it weren’t for the 15-20 mph winds out of the SSE. This girl should’ve had my hat on over my headband. Other than my head and my ears toward the end, I was perfectly dressed. My tootsies and my fingers were warm. Have you seen these ears? I should’ve known they needed extra protection today. Once that headband gets wet from all my sweatiness my ears get cold.

Did everyone have a good Thanksgiving? 

 

 

Leave a comment