Frozen Yogurt Creations vs Cherry Berry….The Moment of Truth

Posted on January 16, 2013. Filed under: running | Tags: , , , |

So there’s a new kid in town…Ok not my town, but a city I frequent…A little competition showed up for the game…the Fro Yo game…

When Frozen Yogurt Creations came to town of course we had to check it out. A.m.a.z.i.n.g. Your choice of any flavor of fro yo, any kind of topping you can imagine, cereal, sprinkles, coconut, nuts, candy bars, gummy worms or bears, swedish fish, cookies, cheesecake, fruit, peanut butter, chocolate, hot fudge, marshmallow….I am not lying when I tell you the options are endless. Here is a great example of 19.3 oz of greatness…

Both are 19.3 oz of greatness. Mine is with the yellow spoon :)

Both are 19.3 oz of greatness. Mine is with the yellow spoon πŸ™‚

Btw…19.3 oz is my PR for fro yo…but I will beat that someday. This creation, is simply amazing. I hate cold coffee, but I love espresso flavored fro yo…especially with brownie bites, peanut butter fro yo, and a peanut butter topping. Topped with too many other things to mention and cookies…To.Die.For. This indeed was our lunch for the day πŸ™‚

The new kid…Cherry Berry…offers Fro Yo Creations a little competition. So…the Fro Yo Pro that I am, had to check it out. It’s good, the store was clean, brand new, cute tiles and furniture…The same concept as the other store. The Fro Yo….almost the same number of flavors but they were lacking a fave of mine…peanut butter. They had less toppings, no peanut butter drizzle goodness, and their little cheesecake squares were in a little ketchup cup…and NO cookies. What?? The ONLY thing I liked that Fro Yo Creations does not currently have (I may have to request it now) is whipped topping. I can only show you the cup because by the time I thought to take a picture of the (weak) 11 oz. it was almost gone. Btw…I only went with a small 11 oz because this was the 3rd day in a row for Fro Yo…Seriously.

11 oz of Cherry Berry

11 oz of Cherry Berry

My opinion…the winner between the two….(drum roll please)…………Hands down….Frozen Yogurt Creations πŸ™‚ Frozen Yogurt Creations also introduced me to these little, addictive things…which I also successfully ate 2 bags in 2 days. WHERE the hell did this sweet tooth and appetite come from??? Seriously!!!??

THE fish

THE fish

Holy shit for addicting….all this sugar means I must work it off right?? So I will πŸ™‚ Β I tried to tell myself that marathon training does NOT give me the right to eat whatever the hell I want…I need to control this sugar addiction soon…Anyhow, I will leave you with this πŸ™‚

Yay for winter runs!

Yay for winter runs!

Week 1 so far looks like this:

Monday’s workout was brought to you by Jillian Michaels DVD Ripped in 30 level 4…yep…I said it. Level 4. Holy.Shit. I’m still sore 2 days later.

Tuesday morning I ran 4 miles outside, with the wind in 2 of the 4 directions. It was cold. I checked the weather and it said the wind was blowing up to 13 mph and the temp “feels like” 7*. I ran an average pace of 8:15/mile. Hmmm…I worked hard for that pace. I’m also trying really hard to focus on my breathing. I am a mouth breather and I’m trying to change to breathing through my nose. It’s working so far, but I really have to concentrate on it.

Today’s run was on the dreadmill. 5.69 miles. I ran 5.25 of those miles. Started out at a slow warm up since I literally rolled out of bed, put on my glasses and running clothes and shoes and turned it on. I always walk for 0.25 mile and then I ran at 9/min mile for 0.75 and then increased to 8:20/mile for the rest of it. It felt hard. I had to stop and use the bathroom, then drink some water, then drink some more water, so I figured I would run an extra 0.25 mile to actually make it to the scheduled 5. The last mile I also progressively went faster and ended with a 7:30 pace. I ran a cool down 0.25 mile and then walked for another 0.20 miles…then I stretched really good. I also always set the incline on the tread on at least 1%. I usually end up moving it up and down (I have up to 3% decline on mine).

I am still wondering what my marathon goal pace is/should be. I am naughty and I hardly run a slow recovery run. I know I should. But last time I ran my long runs a bit slower than the rest of my runs. I have a time goal in mind this time, and I have hard time understanding how I am not supposed to run marathon goal pace on game day if I don’t run goal pace during training. So…I’m going to try to run my goal pace on my long runs and see how it goes!

What’s your favorite fro yo place?? I’ve also eaten at Yogurtland in San Diego and is very very very similar to Frozen Yogurt Creations!

What are your favorite toppings and flavors of fro yo?

Any tips on how to know what your marathon goal pace is? I’ve done the pace calculators and I know what my time goal is. But how do you know what you pace you should run when during training??

 

(I should also tell you that all opinions are my own and I was not compensated in any for my opinion on either frozen yogurt restaurant). However, if either place would like to send me free fro yo I’ll gladly take it ;).

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Wife. Daughter. Nurse. Student. Cupcake and cookie lover. Marathoner!!! Soon-to-be triathlete!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

