Let’s. Get. Sweaty. (and welcome to blog land!!)

Posted on February 11, 2013. Filed under: running, Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

Hello peeps!! So I told you I would give you a little low down on the whole spin thing. Just for your own warning, I am very new to it. I don’t know if its even technically called spinning because it’s not an actual spin bike. It’s a road bike, on a trainer, and I have done a couple spin videos. So, I’m calling it spinning. So there. I have ridden last summer, occasionally with a couple of friends. One whom is generous enough to let me always borrow her bike, and it just so happens to be in my basement on her trainer. I owe her a lot of ounces of this good stuff.

Yum. The price to pay for borrowing a bike :)

Yum. The price to pay for borrowing a bike πŸ™‚

Like I said I have ridden this past summer with a couple of friends. They put on a lot of miles. Which I love. I run for distance, not speed. They ride for distance, not speed. It’s a good combination. She also recommended I download a video from a certain website. I looked it up, registered and signed up for a 7 day free trial. Enter 30 minutes of Pure.Sweat. Holy. Shit. I hopped on this bad boy…

Yikes!

Yikes!

And this was me, after a 3 mile warm up run on the tread…Ready to ride!

Before the session

Before the session

Please excuse the no makeup, rolled out of bed, put hair up, put in contacts, just got off the treadmill look…All while trying to take a self portrait…I obviously have yet to perfect that πŸ˜‰

30 minutes of PURE SWEAT….and this is what you get…

After the session

After the session

Yikes. That is all I have to say. I actually took that picture for snap chat…but it saved on my phone as well. So it ends up here.

So what made this spin class so sweat-astic?? I’m used to running, slow, for distance. And riding slow for distance. I’m not cut out for intervals, in the saddle, out of the saddle, increase the resistance, sprints, etc…I was an honest sweaty mess. and then I was starving. Like…Feed.Me.NOW starving.

I won’t lie, I try to do some speed work on the tread, I do my tempo runs, I like Yasso 800’s, and doing ladder workouts at the track. My fast twitch muscle fibers got a good wake up call this day!!! I am officially addicted. I want to go out and purchase my own spin bike because the closest actual class to me is about a 45 minute drive. I may have to seriously consider making that drive though. I would love to go to a class!! Enter…the importance of cross training while marathon training! And…just for your info…I did NOT go get fro yo after the session either πŸ˜‰

Some other very exciting news…my sister has entered the blog world!!! She has decided to make some changes and has set an ultimate goal of running a half marathon!!! Go Lynn!!!! If you want to go visit her part of blog land you can check it out hereΒ http://lmwaterbury.wordpress.com!! You can read her story over there! She is such an amazing part of my support system and I am excited for her to start running!

Here is a take at what my workouts looked like last week!

Monday was declared a rest day πŸ™‚

Tuesday was Spin day!!! I did 3 easy miles in 26 min on the tread and then whomped out a killer spin 30 minute speed session!

Wednesday was a tempo run. I did a total of 6.5 miles. Here’s the breakdown-0.75 mile warm up at an easy 9:14/mile pace. 5 mile tempo with the first 3 at 8min/miles, a 1/2 mile at 7:54, and a 1/2 at 7:46/mile. a 0.25 mile cool down and I always walk a bit before and after the run.

Thursday turned out to be a long run because I had to work the weekend and we had plans for Friday. I managed 11.2 accident free miles at an average of 8:33/mile pace. If I run long runs on the tread they are usually progression runs. So I started out a tad slower and then about every 1/2 or 1 mile I turn up the speed 0.1 mph.

Friday I did Jillian’s Ripped in 30 level 4 again!!! Then we walked around at a camper show all day and enjoyed a professional la crosse game!!

Saturday I had an easy 3 miles on the tread in 25 minutes.

Sunday I tried another spin video, this time a free one from You Tube. Not quite as sweaty as the first one, but I was still sweaty and my legs were shaking!!!

Today…declared another rest day πŸ™‚

Have you ever been to a spin class or followed a dvd at home??!!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Let’s. Get. Sweaty. (and welcome to blog land!!)”

RSS Feed for Miles With Missy Comments RSS Feed

Great motivation! I’m about to venture out into the cold to start running for the year, and this makes me want to lace up my shoes now. Thanks!

You’re welcome πŸ™‚ I’m glad you found motivation!! I love my treadmill but I really can’t wait to run outside again! The wind and ice have not been runner friendly lately!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Wife. Daughter. Nurse. Student. Cupcake and cookie lover. Marathoner!!! Soon-to-be triathlete!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

