Rest In Peace Garmy…Again.

Posted on February 17, 2013. Filed under: running | Tags: , , |

Where the heck did this week go?? I feel like it just flew right on by! I hope everyone had a great Valentine’s Day! The hubs and I decided to not do anything for each other for V day, just simply because we both think things are overpriced and we don’t need just 1 day a year for us to show each other just how much we love each other πŸ™‚ Sappy shit. I know πŸ™‚ Doesn’t mean this girl won’t accept treats baked by her co-workers!!!! Someone thought we crazy night shifters are a special group and she baked us red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. To.Die.For. I had 2. But wait…there’s more!

Someone thought of me on Valentine's Day!

Someone thought of me on Valentine’s Day!

All my V Day goodies!

All my V Day goodies!

I must explain the 18 pieces of goodness!!! We have a committee at work that sells Valentines for $1. The money goes to our committee and we are able to purchase things for departments that want something but was not in the budget for the year. Each employee can send a Valentine to anyone they want. They can also send as many as they want! The more Valentine’s the more money! We had a nice selection of candy bars, fruit, and granola bars. I feel so loved because I got lots of goodies πŸ™‚ The pink cup is from my supervisor…and yes, it did have chocolate in it! She knows the way to my heart πŸ™‚ I think we should’ve just sold bags of Swedish Fish, but you can’t really compete with Snickers and Dove chocolate πŸ˜‰

One of the highlights of my week is that I have finally been able to run outside again!!! I ran outside Saturday and today!! It was warmer this week, but everything was melting. Which is good, but it makes for really messy runs…and really cold, wet feet. I just didn’t feel like cold, wet feet this week. So I waited until Saturday and it.was.glorious!

I'm back outside!!

I’m back outside!!

But, bad news kids. Garmy was all charged up before yesterdays run. Only had 4 miles on it. So today, when I finally rolled my ass off the couch after staying out way past my bedtime (SOOOO worth it though!!!!) for my 12 miler, Garmy wouldn’t fire up. Dead. We’ve held a service for Garmy the last 2 times I thought she died…so maybe if we hold another funeral and bury a hole she’ll fire up again??!!

Garmy's funeral service

Garmy’s funeral service

You will be missed Garmy, you will.be.missed. We’ve had a good run. We’ve had 5 great years together.

And I think it’s time to finally splurge and find a replacement.

Anyhow…onto this week’s worth of training!!

Monday was a rest day

Tuesday included 3 easy miles at average 8:16/mile pace on the tread. With the new Mizunos. and I am still in deep Mizuno love.

Wednesday I logged 6.1 miles on the tread. 1 mile warm up with 4 @ tempo pace of 8/mile pace and 1 progression mile ending at 7:30/mile. Felt great!!

Thursday my legs were tired and my lower back was really really tight and sore. So I logged 3 easy, slow miles at 9:14/mile on the tread and I did Bob’s Yoga for the Warrior 1 hour dvd. I love love love this dvd. It’s hard, and I could definitely tell that I was very stiff. My hamstrings have been stiff as well as my lower back so I’ve been trying to stretch. I think the key is to do this dvd a couple times a week.

Friday was another rest day. I was really tired. I didn’t sleep much and we went out for supper and then went to bed pretty early.

Saturday I got to run 4 miles outside!! I included fartleks the last 1.5 miles and my average pace was 8:17/mile. The first couple of miles were slower.

Sunday…oh today’s run was hard. It was really.damn.windy. 16mph with 20-25mph gusts at times is what the weather channel told me. So I went back and forth…do I run on the tread…12 miles on the tread? Or do I run outside….I knew Hubs wanted to log a few miles on the tread, so I needed to make up my mind. I chose to run outside, because bless.his.heart. He asked if I really wanted him to run with me for his 5 miles. Of course!!!! After the run, this is his quote, “The wind kicked my ass!” So we did the first 5 miles, I dropped him off at home and I kept going for another 7. The one thing about living in BFE is that I run the same route every.single.time. So I know the mile splits pretty well. Holy.Eff. that wind was hell. And is the reason I am so damn tired ever since I got back! I must admit, I think it was a good thing to go without Garmy. I really just wanted to get the miles done, and didn’t really need to have a specific pace in mind. Especially with the wind. I did glance at the clock when we left and when I got home so I think I did 12 miles in about 1:50. Which is about a 9’ish min/mile. Slower than what I wanted, but the miles still got done. Another week of training in the books kids!!!

As much as I love love love sweets, I think when the two words Marathon Training come to mind, my mind thinks I can eat whatever the Β hell I want. And I think my pants are getting tighter. Not Good. I need to work on that!! The longer my runs get I will try to work on proper fueling and recovery. I have not tried any protein shakes or anything as of yet. Has anyone tried them??

Have you tried protein smoothies?? If so, do you have a favorite brand and recipe that you use?? I usually drink a big glass of chocolate milk after any run longer than 6 miles but I’m interested in trying protein shakes, but am still a little leery of supplements.Β 

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Rest In Peace Garmy…Again.”

RSS Feed for Miles With Missy Comments RSS Feed

Great Valentine’s loot!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Wife. Daughter. Nurse. Student. Cupcake and cookie lover. Marathoner!!! Soon-to-be triathlete!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

