An important decision…and an apology.

Posted on April 1, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized |

 

A Surprise from the Hubs

A Surprise from the Hubs

Hello Peeps! I hope each and every one of you had a fantastic Easter!  I got to spend some quality time with my in-laws and my family. Ate WAY too much delicious food, and even got a little run in with the sis…and my memory is correct…this was our first run together!!

Today’s post is going to be short and sweet…maybe. I tend to ramble when I don’t plan on it. Anyhow…per the title, I made an executive important decision this last weekend regarding my long run. 18 miles. Skipped. Not done. Unplanned Rest day. A little mental breakdown. Never have I missed a long run on a training plan. Did I mention a little mental breakdown? Hmm…so why did I skip the run? Well, yes, I had a crap ton of stuff to do and get done and I had to work. This pesky left patella of mine is still having some tracking problems, and while trying to strengthen that left quad, correct my running form, and use a little KT tape, I have also managed to bring out the weakness of my right hip flexor. NOT. COOL. So, I hurt on both sides, different areas. And I figured what the hell, I may as well take an extra rest day. Run easy when I do run. I will make it to the starting line of my upcoming half marathon and Fargo Full marathon.

What the heck is the apology for then….Peeps…I must apologize to you if you see me running outside, because kids it is Spring outside (except today, because it is the MN Twins home opener so of course it is 30 degrees and windy) and these bright white legs have been in shorts…and will be in shorts until next winter (unless I can somehow convince hubs that my “no snow Diego” campaign is the best decision we could make this year).

Photo courtesy of Instagram

Photo courtesy of Instagram

I’m still in long sleeves, but these white legs have seen the sun!!!! I will have to check back tomorrow to recap my last few workouts, and I have an idea for a valuable post…

Is anyone else as excited as I am to be running in shorts again?? It almost makes it fun to splash through the puddles of melting snow 🙂

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “An important decision…and an apology.”

RSS Feed for Miles With Missy Comments RSS Feed

Probably a smart decision to forgo the 18 miler with some pain. Long runs of that length tend to make pain worse rather than better, it’s the damndest thing! Best that you make it to the starting line rarin’ to go! 🙂 I wish I was doing fargo again this year!!

I’ve heard good things about Fargo Marathon! I’m excited to make it to the start line 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Wife. Daughter. Nurse. Student. Cupcake and cookie lover. Marathoner!!! Soon-to-be triathlete!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

