Excuses are like…

Posted on April 7, 2013. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

So you know how I said I was going to write this post “tomorrow”? Well, that obviously didn’t happen. Work happened. All week. Marathon training has been happening. Blah blah blah. And spring cleaning is hopefully going to happen this week, as long as this cold/flu crap takes its muscle/body/joint aches and night sweats and moves somewhere outside of my home. Which is no excuse. Settle in kids, this may get wordy.

A whole lot of Mango goodness...

A whole lot of Mango goodness…

 

Leading me to…the whole point of the post I wanted to write. Have you ever heard that saying “Excuses are like a#$holes….everyone’s got one”? Not this past season of The Biggest Loser, but the one before that, the theme was No Excuses. I think it’s in our nature, our comfort zone, to make excuses. For many things. Not just for not working out or eating healthy. I’m guilty of it too. It’s so easy to get inside that comfort zone. It’s so easy to eat crap food. It’s so easy to stay on the couch or chair, and it’s so easy to say “I’ll do it tomorrow”.

I understand that we are all busy. Busy with life. Busy with kids (not me, but most people are), busy with work. Busy with busy spouses. Here’s the thing, if you want to feel good for life, for your kids, for work, and for your spouse, you NEED  to take care of YOU. Your body needs you to take care of you, because honestly, if you don’t, you can’t take care of anyone else around you. Your kids, your spouse, your family, friends, patients, whoever….they need YOU to be the best you that you can be. It’s not selfish to take care of yourself first. Because if you aren’t 100%, then you cannot give 100%.

People have asked me tips on how to get moving, and keep moving. People have asked how I eat somewhat healthy? I tell them I make time. Then they tell me they don’t have time, or give me some other lame excuse. I say make time. prioritize. Set goals. Make a plan. Evaluate that plan. If it isn’t working, what do I need to do? Do I change something within that plan or do I reevaluate my goals? People assume that just because we don’t have kids that I have all the time in the world to run whenever I want or do whatever I want. This is not the case. I still work. Crappy hours actually. and I will be starting school again (more on that later).

Here’s the thing, I would like to believe that even if I did have little munchkins, I would still make the time to get my workouts in. If your kids are a little older and can ride a bike, have them ride a bike while you either ride a bike, run, or walk. If they are smaller, put them in a bike trailer or a stroller. Work with your spouse’s schedule and make a plan for both of you to be able to take the time to workout. Separately or together. Makes no difference. You have kids that you are setting examples for. I don’t. That’s huge. That is all the more reason to keep moving. I don’t have little kids to imprint.

Quit with the excuses. Make the time for you, and you will thank yourself later. You do not need a personal trainer, chef, nanny, or housekeeper just to get your workouts in. You need to make it a priority. And it will happen. I watched real people on the Biggest Loser with real lives (yes, they were at the ranch for weeks with professional help, but at home they were 100% responsible for themselves), real jobs, real kids, and they all made excuses to eat crap and not workout. But they changed. It’s a mental change in the beginning. And it’s tough. It’s hard. Probably harder than any physical change you will endure. But you will thank yourself. Please do not take offense to my words. This is my opinion. I’ve heard lots of excuses. I’ve been asked my opinion. I am not an expert or a Dr. or psychologist. I know we runners have a little bit o’ crazy in us. Must be all the natural endorphins running gives us.

Courtesy of Instagram

Courtesy of Instagram

 

Anywho…if you have any questions for me, please feel free to ask. I will not bore you with the borderline knee injury (I’m still in denial ok?). I will not bore you with workouts. They are happening. Slowly. I’ve tapered back on speed work. Skipped that pesky 18 miler. I did run 13 today. Pain free. Hubs joined me for 11.5 of those miles. They were fun miles. I have 19 on the schedule for Thursday. We’ll see where in the county Hubs drops me off that day. Should be interesting. He seriously enjoys dropping me off in the middle of NOWHERE and making me run home.

What are your thoughts on excuses? I’m guilty too…but I do try to keep moving on a regular basis. What is your most common excuse?

Is anyone else training for a spring marathon??!! What kind of plan calls or 19 miles? Just round up to 20 🙂 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Wife. Daughter. Nurse. Student. Cupcake and cookie lover. Marathoner!!! Soon-to-be triathlete!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

