Earth Day Run Recap and Review

Posted on April 25, 2013. Filed under: Races, running | Tags: , , , , |

Howdy kids and happy Thursday! So I think spring is FINALLY arriving…Snow is almost gone, the sun has been shining all day, and I had a great 5 miler today!

This past Friday Hubs and I headed north and met his brother and his wife, and one of his college friends and his wife and their family. We all met up at the hotel, did a little shopping, and headed to the expo for the 2013 Earth Day Run Half Marathon to pick up our race packets. The expo was small, there was no wait to get our race packets and numbers. We got some nice race swag! A black string backpack and a long sleeved fitted technical shirt. Love the technical shirts!

Instagrammed Race Swag

Instagrammed Race Swag

We walked around the expo, I got a new headband, which will makes it’s appearance eventually! We left and went to Granite City for supper. I ordered some chicken pasta thing. It was good, but I wish I would’ve ordered something different. Then we headed back to the hotel and chatted for a bit and got things ready for the morning.

Ready to go!!

Ready to go!! Courtesy of Instagram

Race day weather was supposed to be colder than normal for this time of year. A whole 18 degrees when I woke up! I got up, got ready and went down to the continental breakfast to eat and get some java. I had the usual, english muffin with peanut butter and honey. I forgot to grab a banana, but for some reason I also had a little scoop of oatmeal with cinnamon. Enough to tide me over. I ate, had coffee, went back to the room to use the bathroom (thank goodness!! Sometimes I can’t “go” before a race), but my stomach was not happy. I think it had something to do with the chicken pasta thing from supper. Hubs got up and we all got ready to go downstairs and meet everyone to head to the starting line!

We got to the start and we got to wait inside with real bathrooms! Even though it was chilly outside, the sun was shining and the wind was very minimal. I can handle cold, I can’t handle the wind! We lined up, the announcer was gracious and gave a moment of silence for the Boston Marathon events. Then we were off!

Miles 1-6 went well. I thought I started out a little fast, but I was feeling really good and I wanted to push myself to see if I could keep my pace for the entire race. The race started out and went across the river and through some residential areas, then we ran down a little hill on a dirt path. I think it was a good thing the ground was frozen because otherwise it would’ve been really messy. Then we ran through part of a park and got onto a bike path. That path is where things got a little crowded. Not bad though. We went through more residential areas and then back towards the campus, around the campus, and then back onto a bike path.

Split
Time
istance
Avg Pace
Summary
1 7:43.9 1.00 7:44
2 7:45.8 1.00 7:46
3 7:55.6 1.00 7:56
4 7:48.8 1.00 7:49
5 7:49.3 1.00 7:49
6 7:37.5 1.00 7:38

Whose legs are these and where did they come from?? That’s been my saying lately. I don’t run that fast. Ever. This is slow for some of you, but I really wonder where these miles came from! I was planning on taking 3 Clif Shot Bloks at mile 5 and the other 3 at mile 10. My stomach had different plans. It was a little queasy so I just tried to take one at a time. I just kept reminding myself that I got this, I can do this, and I can finish strong. I am able to run, and that was what pushed me through. I wondered how everyone else was doing. This was my brother-in-law’s first half marathon and my hubs was pacing him to his goal time! I was so excited for them!

Miles 7-10 I was starting to slow down a bit. My left hamstring was getting a little tight, but my knee was feeling great! I really felt like I was starting to push myself too hard. My breathing was ok, but I was starting to slow down. Garmy shows how I was feeling.

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary
7 7:59.5 1.00 8:00
8 7:58.0 1.00 7:58
9 7:52.4 1.00 7:53
10 7:58.3 1.00 7:58

At this point in the race we went by a golf course and a lot of tangents and through another residential area.

Miles 11-13.1. Mile 11 was tough. I felt like I stopped sweating and I was thirsty even though I was taking a glass at each water station. But there weren’t many stations. I kinda wish I would’ve brought my own. I was ready to be done. Then I started thinking about my goals for Fargo in less than a month. I thought about how I want to run my last 20 miler, how I want to taper, do I want to do any speed work or keep my runs easy so I can go all out at Fargo? I thought about a lot of things during that long, grueling mile. Again, garmy shows how I was feeling. Then I got my head back in the game, was not going to get passed, was going to pass the guys in front of me, and was going for a strong finish. Well kids…for the final review…. Here are all of my splits and my finish time per Garmy, which is only a couple of seconds off from chip time…

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 1:44:14.8 13.23 7:53
1 7:43.9 1.00 7:44
2 7:45.8 1.00 7:46
3 7:55.6 1.00 7:56
4 7:48.8 1.00 7:49
5 7:49.3 1.00 7:49
6 7:37.5 1.00 7:38
7 7:59.5 1.00 8:00
8 7:58.0 1.00 7:58
9 7:52.4 1.00 7:53
10 7:58.3 1.00 7:58
11 8:12.7 1.00 8:13
12 8:01.6 1.00 8:02
13 7:51.4 1.00 7:51
14 1:39.9 0.23 7:11

My final chip time per their website is 1:44:14 and they say it’s an 8:01/mile. I like Garmy’s time better 😉 Either way, I managed to pull a 6 minute PR!!!! I was so happy when I crossed that finish line! I grabbed a bottle of water and went to look for Hubs and his brother. They came in under his goal time at 1:58!!! I’m so proud of everyone we ran with!

The best part of running a half mary??!! The recovery part 😉

One helluva burger and fries

One helluva burger and fries

I have not ordered a burger from a restaurant in a very very long time. I can’t even remember when the time I did, since I never order them. But I ordered the fried egg and cheddar burger and sweet potato fries at the Boulder Tap House, and washed it all down with a couple Blue Moons. Well worth it!!

This is worth all the workouts ever done.

This is worth all the workouts ever done.

No meal should ever be complete until you have some fro yo. We earned it!

It's no Frozen Yogurt Creations, but it'll do.

It’s no Frozen Yogurt Creations, but it’ll do.

After a little nap time and supper, we were still incredibly lazy and went to bed. Such party peeps we are. The day after my long runs or races seems to be when my appetite is monstrous. So I indulged at the continental breakfast 🙂 Then we headed home 😦 I never want a fun weekend to end. It was great to see family and friends and run a great race!!! Hopefully we’ll be back next year!!!

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Earth Day Run Recap and Review”

RSS Feed for Miles With Missy Comments RSS Feed

[…] morning. I wasn’t sure how I wanted to run it. I had 2 options in my head. Since I had a nice PR the week before I thought about trying to run most of these 20 miles at marathon goal pace (mgp) […]

[…] Also, April showers bring May flowers right? WRONG…not in MN. Or shall I say Minne-snow-ta.  April and May brought a lot of snow showers. These snow showers brought on my first 20 miler treadmill run. April also brought a shiny new half-marathon PR of 1:44:14 at the St. Cloud Earth Day Half Marathon. […]


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Wife. Daughter. Nurse. Student. Cupcake and cookie lover. Marathoner!!! Soon-to-be triathlete!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

