Guess what?!

Posted on June 19, 2013. Filed under: running, Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

Guess what?! I’m back 🙂 Where the heck did this month go? I honestly did not forget about this little blog, but there honestly, has been very.minimal. running since Fargo Marathon. To make myself feel a little better, these came to my mailbox

 

and…these are on their way to my mailbox 🙂 Can you say addiction?

So I kind of left you all hanging with the “I” word. Well, I went to see a provider. Plantar Fasciitis.A couple of weeks before I left for vacation. Clear instructions…rest.no sandals. NONE. (“But do you realize I will be a beach for a week!!”)Nope, sorry. NO Sandals. Rest. Ice. Stretching.Rest. (“What?! I work like 12 days in a row…can I still work?”) yes, but try to rest. Craptastick. (Yes, this is a word.)

I know that many runners struggle with injuries. From what I understand PF is a common injury. I have never had this problem before. Thankfully, I have only had a couple of experiences with an injury. Last year I had IT band problems that were caught early, I stopped running, stretched, and healed quickly. I also had a patellar knee tracking problem earlier this year.  I caught it early, cut way back on running, used braces, and healed quickly. I attributed a change of shoes to the knee problem. I changed back to my favorites and haven’t had any problems since. Until PF struck. Funny thing is, I didn’t feel a thing during the entire 26.2. It was the walk from the car to the stairs to the hotel room that I experienced pain. Not being able to run has been horrible. I’m not going to lie about that. I’ve been trying very hard to keep a positive attitude. Running keeps a person sane. Running keeps a person healthy. Running keeps a person’s weight in check. Running helps me clear my mind. Running.Makes.Me.Happy.

So, for the last month, I ran twice (on the beach..how could I not??!!, but I paid for it afterwards). I walked around NYC for two straight days. I spent a little bit of time in the pool. I’ve spent some time with Jillian and her Ripped in 30 dvd. I’ve put some fun miles on Lexa. And even experienced my first fall with the clipped in shoes and pedals! Thank goodness for helmets 🙂

instagram photo

instagram photo

Did I mention I was in NYC and at the beach on a small island off of Long Island?! More photos to come later 🙂  It has been a month since my foot problems and it’s feeling better. Guess what…I’m going to attempt my first ever triathlon!!!!! It’s just a short distance tri, but I’m going to attempt it. I figured I know I can swim and bike and I can always walk if I need to. I have to go do a little research on transitions!!!!

Have any of you ever done a triathlon? If so, do you have any suggestions for a first timer?!

Anyone else recovering from a running injury? How are you cross training and keeping from going nuts?!

Has anyone fell off their bike while clipped in?

Ever been to NYC or any other fun vacay lately?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Guess what?!”

RSS Feed for Miles With Missy Comments RSS Feed

Do you fall off everything you do? Since we are genetically linked, is this something I should be worried about? How bad was the road rash? Yikes! I’m glad you’re back, we should get together soon. Love you!

haha!! You are right, I do fall at everything I do 🙂 Good thing I can’t really fall in the pool. Or can I? Hmmmm… Road rash wasn’t bad. My handlebars took most of the fall, but I did have a couple of good bruises 🙂 We should get together soon! Love you too 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Wife. Daughter. Nurse. Student. Cupcake and cookie lover. Marathoner!!! Soon-to-be triathlete!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

