I thought this was where I write…

Posted on October 4, 2013. Filed under: Races, running | Tags: , , , |

So sorry…again..that I have been MIA. Not to make excuses (but I will again anyhow), but school started for me again, and life has been a little overwhelming right now. So…onto a more positive note…

I believe we left off with I was about to run the Women Rock Half Mary on August 31st. Which I did! I didn’t die…although I won’t lie, there was a time or two I thought I wanted too. I will do a full recap when I get off my lazy bum and download some photos. I will tell you, it was probably the hardest half mary I have done (with the exception of my very first one). There was a lot of self talk and mental battles for 13.1 miles. 1:53:14 later, I crossed that finish line, headed directly for the chocolate milk and food (um…which is ALWAYS the first place I go after a race. So if you ever run with me, and you look for me after I finish, chances are, this is where I will be).

So what’s next??!! Because you KNOW there is going to be something next…I’m going to bust out this ol’ thing…

LEXA!!

LEXA!!

And TRY my damndest to NOT fall over. No guarantees though. I will tell you how that turns out. On this coming Sunday, weather permitting, I will be participating in the Mankato River Ramble 40 mile bike ride. It is a fun ride (I’m used to typing Fun Run…which is more fun because run rhythms with fun. What rhythms with ride?!!) No racing here, I just want to finish the miles. Lexa may have to get a new seat on Saturday. Since the current one hurts my girly parts 5 miles into every ride. Sorry…not happening for 40 miles.

And….on October 20th, if you have nothing better to do, you can always cheer me and my sis on at the Mankato Half Mary!! This will be her very first half marathon. And…to be expected, she is nervous!! But I know she will do great! She will be running it with a friend of hers and I cannot wait to see them finish! 

I’ve run that course twice, and it is one of my favorites. It is a relatively new course (it is in its 4th year).  I’m not sure if it’s a favorite because it’s close to home, or because it’s the first half I had under 2 hours, or if I just love the course. I also volunteered the 2nd year they had it. I was a bike medic on the final 3 miles of the course and it was so much fun to encourage runners at that point! Although I now know what most of them were saying as they ran away from me… The course is pretty. Especially in fall. Weather is kinda unpredictable (um…possible tornadoes tomorrow in our weather forecast. In October. Really? And I’m pretty sure a snow storm is on its way.) If you have not done this course, you really should. Because I say so. And because you can have really good celebratory beer afterwards.

I see a lot of this happeningMmmmm…..beeeeeerrrrr.

Believe it or not, I do not have anything on the calendar for running after the Mankato Half. I think I will be taking it easy the rest of the year. Resting my foot. And trying to get my running mojo back. I am going to focus on some strength training and yogaing. I will be running, just not as much. My goal is to get stronger and leaner so I can accomplish a BIG goal next year. Anywho….enough about me.

What are your race plans for the rest of the year??

Are you setting any goals for next year?

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “I thought this was where I write…”

RSS Feed for Miles With Missy Comments RSS Feed

You are a busy lady! Keep up the great work and play and know we support your every endeavor! Love you!

Good luck with the race this weekend! I’m a little nervous about the weather…everyday I check it gets colder, a higher chance of rain, and higher winds, ughh! Oh well, it is a beautiful course & should be a good time! I’m going to exchange my sleeves for another pair of socks after e-mailing the company…they made me chafe even w/body glide…lesson learned!

I hope you had a good race this weekend! It was a great morning for a run 🙂 Good idea to exchange the sleeves. I may have to do that!

How was Mankato for you? I’ll be posting my blog report tomorrow (Wed) morning. We should exchange war stories – post on my blog when your report is up!

Hello! Mankato was a good run for me! I will get a recap up soon and let you know when I do! I hope it was a good run for you as well!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Wife. Daughter. Nurse. Student. Cupcake and cookie lover. Marathoner!!! Soon-to-be triathlete!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

